Skip to main content
Employee Recognition

2022 Awards for Excellence Winners Honored

Chancellor Randy Woodson (second from right) and eight of the 12 Awards for Excellence winners pose for a photo after the 2022 awards ceremony. Pictured with the chancellor are (from left to right): Brandon Bouche, Alexis Lockett, Jimmy Wright, Katrina Pawvluk, Stephen Smith, Dr. Julie Casani, Doug Tremblay and Lauren Ball.

The 12 NC State employees who won a 2022 Award for Excellence and the 43 employees who were nominated for an award were honored this month during a ceremony at Talley Student Union.

The award is the most prestigious honor bestowed upon nonfaculty employees at NC State. It recognizes staff members for accomplishments and contributions that go above and beyond normal job responsibilities in seven categories. The 12 winners are eligible to win a Governor’s Award for Excellence. 

“I think the ceremony went really well,” said Britt Hurst, manager of the Wellness and Recognition Program at NC State. “We had a great day celebrating employees who have gone above and beyond to achieve excellence for the university or their community. We heard stories about employees from across the university who made a tremendous difference in the lives of others. It was a joyous occasion.”

During the ceremony, attendees listened to short synopses about why each of the winners and nominees was honored, and Chancellor Randy Woodson gave the keynote address.

The 2022 Awards for Excellence Excellence winners are:

Jimmy Wright
  • Jimmy Wright
  • Director of Operations and Planning
  • Campus Enterprises
  • Category: Public Service
Doug Tremblay
  • Doug Tremblay
  • Laboratory Manager
  • Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Category: Outstanding State Government Service
Stephen Smith
  • Stephen Smith
  • Police Officer
  • NC State University Police Department
  • Category: Heroism
Sarah Slover
  • Sarah Slover
  • Graduate Program Coordinator
  • Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
  • Category: Customer Service
Seth Miller
  • Seth Miller
  • Advanced Information Technology Auditor
  • Internal Audit Division
  • Category: Customer Service
  • Alexis Lockett
  • Manager of Online and Distance Education Program
  • Category: Efficiency and Innovation
  • Lauren Ball
  • Assistant Director for Programs
  • Office of International Services
  • Category: Customer Service
  • Katrina Pawvluk
  • Director of Administration and Occupancy Management
  • University Housing
  • Category: Customer Service
  • Dr. Julie Casani
  • Director and Medical Director
  • Student Health Services
  • Category: Outstanding State Government Service
  • Callie Edwards
  • Associate Director of Program Evaluation and Education
  • Friday Institute
  • Category: Human Relations
  • Neal Hairston
  • University Library Technician
  • NC State University Libraries
  • Category: Customer Service
  • Brandon Bouche
  • Video and IT Engineer
  • WolfBytes 
  • Category: Efficiency and Innovation